Tuesday, November 25, 2008

The 81-Year-Old Coach of the Year

Joe Paterno was named Big 10 Coach of the Year last night, becoming just the third three-time winner in league history.

Ten Penn Staters made first team: Daryll Clark, Derrick Williams, A.Q. Shipley, Rich Ohrnberger, Gerald Cadogen and Kevin Kelly on offense; Aaron Maybin, Jared Odrick, Navorro Bowman and Anthony Scirrotto on defense.

Not bad for a team and a coach that people keep expecting to fail. Oh yes, and ESPN's Adam Rittenberg says Ohio State's James Laurinitis didn't deserve Big 10 Defensive Player of the year:

James Laurinaitis is a future College Football Hall of Famer and a sure-fire first-round NFL draft pick. He's an excellent football player. He should not have been named Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year. That award should have gone to Penn State defensive end Aaron Maybin. No one else is really in the discussion. Maybin was flat-out dominant this season. I don't care if he's just a sophomore. Base the award on merit, not on reputation or name recognition or having a nice back story.

Don't go Aaron. Don't go.

No comments:

Post a Comment